Stalled

I recently received a sales statement from my distributor and was surprised to discover that I had sold zero books the previous month. Yep, you heard that right, zero.

I think this may be the first month in years that my books’ sales were zip.

That sales statement sure made me sit up and take stock. What I discovered was that I had gotten busy with a number of other things and had let my marketing activities slip. I remember thinking a number of times over the past few months that I should do this or that to keep the momentum of my marketing efforts, but each time, I made an excuse and put it off.

When I put something off, it usually means it drops to the bottom of my “To Do” list and stays there for quite awhile. Not a smart thing to let happen with marketing.

Needless to say, I have pulled out my marketing plan and revisited it. I have come up with a list of things that I have been putting off that I need to do. Among these are:

  1. Advertising in a few journals.
  2. Creating and ordering some new promotional materials.
  3. Making my books available in ebook format.

Now, these are not new goals. These are marketing objectives I have had for some time. I just have not made them a priority and carved out the time to do them.

Have you experienced a stall in your books’ sales? If you have (or do in the future), let it be a sign to you that you need to revisit your marketing plan and get back to business. Sometimes that means doing more of the activities you are already engaged in, and other times it means coming up with some new marketing strategies.

It’s summer and we all want a vacation. Just don’t let your vacation mean an extended break from marketing activities. Marketing is a prerequisite to selling books.


TweetIt from HubSpot

Share/Save/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

