A What?

I remember sitting in a business class in college and hearing the professor give an example that we were to pretend to be X Company making widgets. Making what? Widgets. What’s a widget? Not wanting to appear stupid, I went home and looked up widget in the dictionary rather than ask in class.

That was back in the 1980’s. My American Heritage Dictionary did not have the word listed in it. So, the next time the word came up, I swallowed my pride, raised my hand and asked, “What’s a widget?” The professor responded that a widget was a made-up term to refer to a gadget a company might make. Now gadget was in my dictionary, widget was not.

Since my long ago college days, widget has come into its own and is now listed in the Random House Unabridged Dictionary (2006). This dictionary gives widget the following definition:

A small mechanical device, as a knob or switch, esp. one whose name is not known or cannot be recalled; gadget: a row of widgets on an instrument panel.

Now some brilliant entrepreneur has taken this term and named a specific device he created for the internet a Widget. Not only that, this same person has coined a new term (I think the Internet is expanding the English language daily with new terms); Blidget.

So what is this new Widget? And what is a Blidget? They are wonderful little gadgets that let you promote a website (Widget) or a blog with RSS feed (Blidget). Anyone can make one. I did. They’re free. I made a Blidget for my blog. You can view and get a copy of my Blidget at http://www.widgetbox.com/widget/marketing-christian-books. My blidget is rather plain. You can make one as large or small as plain or as fancy as you like. Just head on over to www.widgetbox.com and make yours today.

Widgets and Blidgets are more than just pretty little gadgets. They are a new web marketing tool. They allow you to post your blog on any of your websites or social networking sites on the web. I have posted mine on Facebook and will be posting it on my book’s website. So now rather than just text that says “visit my blog at www.marketingchristianbooks.wordpress.com, I have a colorful widget that entices someone to take a closer look.

The other helpful thing about Widgets and Blidgets is that they contain an embedded link to your website or blog. Search engine bots use these when roaming the web. One of the methods search engines use to determine ranking for results is the number of outside links to a website. WidgetBox.com also hosts a gallery of the Widgets and Blidgets that have been made, so you can place the one you create in their gallery; adding more exposure for your website or blog.

Have you made a Widget or a Blidget?

One thought on “A What?

Leave a Reply

