Unless the Lord Builds…

I am currently re-reading 100 Amazing Answers to Prayer by William J. Petersen and Randy Petersen. This time round I am reading it with my daughter. The book is both inspiring and convicting. The awesome answers to prayer chronicled in the book inspire me to want to pray more and experience more of God’s incredible power in my life. Yet, I am also convicted when I read these true stories because I do not pray enough.

The neat thing is that even though this book was originally published in 2003 by Revell, you can still purchase it new. The book must be selling well enough for Revell to still be printing it. Generally, books published by large publishing houses are placed out-of-print within a year or two of publication if they do not reach best-seller status. Thus many great books fade into obscure second-hand only status rather quickly. Ah, the rub of being published by a large established publishing house. The author pours her soul into a book only to see it sold briefly. This is why I had my own publishing company reprint one of my books that went out-of-print when the original publisher decided to no longer print the book. When the book went out-of-print, individuals began contacting me, the author, asking where they could still purchase the book. So I decided to make it easy for them to do that. But, I digress.

James 4:2-3 says, You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures. How much do I not have because I don’t take the time to ask my God? Would my books sell more copies and touch more people’s lives if I prayed more? Would my marketing efforts, my blog posts, and my social networking time be more fruitful if I spent more time praying over them before I undertook each one?

Psalm 127:1 states, Unless the LORD builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain. We need God to go before us and build our marketing avenues. We need Him to open doors and prepare the way; otherwise our promotional efforts are in vain.

How about you? Are you praying over each promotional effort you are undertaking on behalf of your books? Are you asking God to bless these promotional efforts so that the words God has given you to write or publish may bless those lives it touches? Or are you too focused on obtaining notoriety as an author or on achieving the dream you are carrying?

I am committing myself to pray more over each promotional effort this year. I am asking God to build my house. I am asking Him to build the avenues of book promotion to place my books into the hands of those who most need the words they read, and that through them many others will be blessed also.

Has God recently blessed a promotional avenue you undertook for your books?

One thought on “Unless the Lord Builds…

Leave a Reply

