The New Author

Technology is rapidly changing the landscape for marketing books. A few years ago, authors were encouraged to have a website and develop a mailing list (email and snail mail) for their fan base to maintain contact and market their current and upcoming titles to. However, the new interactive Web 2.0 has changed how authors are expected to market their books.

The number of Web 2.0 user-created content websites that authors can use to promote their books is increasing on a daily basis. Keeping up and learning how to use each of these time-consuming activities to promote books can be confusing and overwhelming.

Dennis Cass, an author with HarperCollins, recently created a very funny video with his take on what is expected of authors from their publishers in marketing their books. I think Dennis has done a great job of encapsulating many authors’ feelings in his video that is posted on YouTube.

Do you feel like Dennis?

One thought on “The New Author

  1. Wow! this was wonderful. It is exactly what I fight against all the time and so as a publisher (very small)(incredibly small in fact) I try my hardest to promote my authors myself, leaving them to write. James Cates is working on the third book of his Trainer Trilogy and we need it out like NOW. So if he was having to promote and market all alone, when would he have time to write?
    I loved this video. wow. thanks, it makes me know that what my goal is for my authors is not crazy, but needed so they can do what they do best…write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

