Seizing Every Opportunity

In my last post, “Are You a Smart Marketer?” I posed five questions to guide you in deciding if you are one. I decided to follow that post up with five pieces each highlighting one aspect of SMART marketing.

I am amazed at how many authors and publishers fail to seize every opportunity presented to them. I am not talking about opportunities that an author or publisher has to seek out, but opportunities that drop in their laps. Let me give you a couple of examples.

Christian Small Publishers Association (CSPA) has retained a foreign rights agent to represent the titles our member publishers place in the CSPA annual product catalog (you can view the 2009 catalog at www.christianpublishers.net). I have had more than one publisher never respond to my notices informing them that a foreign publisher was interested in publishing one of their titles.

One gentleman, who published a book on growing up in the Netherlands, relentlessly promotes his book in the United States. Yet, when a German publisher expressed interest in publishing the book in German, this gentleman did not seize the opportunity placed before him.

Recently ChristianBookVideos.com created a directory of Christian authors using Twitter (you can view the directory at www.christianbookvideos.com/browse/crosstweet). Listing in the directory is free. I posted this announcement on a discussion group that I am part of. One Christian author wrote back that she did not like the genre categories that ChristianBookVideos.com was using. She did not think any of the categories really fit what she writes on. As a result, she passed up an opportunity for free publicity.

What does it matter if the exact category is not available? A good marketer seeking promotion for a book would pick the category that fit the closest to seize the opportunity.Cats-God-Cover

On the other hand, David Evans understands how to seize every opportunity. David reads this blog (thank you David). He knows that I do not review books on my blog, but he has seen that once in awhile I mention books on my blog. David became my friend on Facebook and told me about his book Does GOD Ever Speak through CATS? He offered to send me a complimentary copy of his book if I sent him my address. That was all. A free book, no strings attached.

David understands seizing every opportunity. Sending me his book may have amounted to naught. On the other hand, it could garner him some publicity; which it has.

The Bible admonishes us to make the most of every opportunity always being ready to give a reason for the hope that we have (I Peter 3:15). If you have published a book that gives a reason for the hope you have in Christ Jesus, then I encourage you to seize every opportunity and leave the outcomes in God’s control.

Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

