Are You Regular?

Most experts in marketing will tell you that, at a minimum, you should be doing five things a day to promote your book. Sometimes book promotion is like reading your Bible. You know you should do it every day, but often you fall short. Life just gets in the way.

Fortunately God’s grace is greater than our failings. That’s true in our relationship with him as well in our book promotion. God’s mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23, so don’t beat yourself up if you don’t make the grade. Simply resolve to do better.

The best way to ensure that your book marketing efforts are regular and continual is to create a marketing plan. From your marketing plan draft goals for yourself about what you will do each day. Then set out to fulfill those goals.

Your daily five promotional efforts can include a blog post, commenting on someone else’s blog that reaches your target audience, sending off queries for acquiring book reviews, seeking speaking engagements, seeking guest blog appearances, writing articles about your topic that help promote your book, seeking radio or television interviews, setting up book signing appearances, targeted mailings, writing a newsletter for your fans, and sending thank you notes for book coverage received; to name just  a few.

Promoting a book is not a sprint. It is a marathon and something that you must do on a regular and continual basis. Regular, continual book promotion will keep your book selling for years. Baby Bible Board Books: Stories of Jesus (www.babybibleboardbooks.com), the set of children’s books that I co-authored with my husband, are still selling six years after they were published; all because we continue to engage in regular promotional efforts.yg2-front

If you are having trouble coming up with a marketing plan and specific resources to use in promoting your book, then I suggest you read a book on marketing books. Books such as John Kremer’s 1001 Ways to Market Your Book and my book, Your Guide to Marketing Books in the Christian Marketplace, are filled with specific resources and contacts for you to use in making a plan.

If that approach overwhelms you, then consider hiring a marketing coach to help you. I provide book marketing coaching for Christian books. My service includes a marketing plan with specific resources. You can learn more about this service at www.marketingchristianbooksinc.com.

If an apple a day keeps the doctor away, then five promotional efforts a day sells your book.


TweetIt from HubSpot

Share/Save/Bookmark

5 thoughts on “Are You Regular?

  1. Hey, thanks for the great information. I’ve just come across your blog today for the first time (linked from another writer friend of mine). I recently ordered John Kremer’s book 1001 Ways to Market Your Books, having no idea there was one specific for the Christian Marketplace. Would you say that Kremer’s book provides essentially the same resources and contacts as your book or are there many differences? I would love to get as many resources as possible, particularly because marketing is so new to me and I feel like I am starting late in the game. Thanks so much!

    Like

  2. When I authored my first Christian book, I devoured John Kremer’s “1001 Ways to Market Your Books.” His book is phenomenal with great resources for marketing books. However, almost all his contacts were general market sources. I needed Christian resources. I wrote “Your Guide to Marketing Books in the Christian Marketplace” because no other marketing book covered the resources for the Christian marketplace. On the whole, I would say my book covers different sources and contacts.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for the quick response. Your book sounds like a wonderful tool to have at my disposal and I’ve enjoyed browsing through your marketing topics. Have a great day!

    Like

  4. Hi, I’m just popping in to let you know that I gave you The Lovely Blog Award on my blog yesterday. I see that Cindy already linked to here. 🙂 I’m glad! I’ve found some very helpful information on your sight. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Wow, what an honor. Thank you so much for the Lovely Blog Award! I am pleased that you have found the information on my blog helpful to your marketing efforts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

