Waylaid Plans

I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions. Rather, whenever I see I need to improve or change something, I try to make a resolution right then and there to do something about it.

Just like New Year’s resolutions, my moment-by-moment resolutions can begin great and then fall by the wayside. Last fall, I decided I needed to compost my kitchen scraps. I started a compost area in my garden and for a few days took scraps out to it. Then the weather turned sour and it began to rain. There went my resolution. My resolve was not strong enough to include walking outside in the rain to dump the kitchen scraps.

Recently, I decided to try again. This time, I implemented a better plan. I put a bucket under the kitchen sink to empty kitchen scraps into. Now, I only take the scraps outside on nice days.

Our marketing efforts can be like New Year’s resolutions. We set up a marketing plan at the launch of each new book. Then, even with the best intentions, we often get sidetracked with all the other important things a small publisher wearing many hats must do.

From time to time, we need to resolve again to get back to marketing.

My resolution to make Your Guide to Marketing Books in the Christian Marketplace available as an ebook keeps getting waylaid. It seems that each time I decide to concentrate on that goal, I run into some small obstacle and the project gets waylaid.

Whenever I run across a statistic on the increase in ebook sales, I am reminded that I need to get back to that project. Here is one ebook statistic I came across recently:

  • In 2010, the global ebook market grew by more than 200 percent. More than 90 million ebooks were purchased during that year. The value of the sales equates to more than $900 million and has been largely attributed to growth in the United States, which represented more than 80 percent of global book revenues.

This statistic spurred me to get back to my waylaid plan and put my book up as a PDF ebook on the book’s website. So, if you have been waiting for Your Guide to Marketing Books in the Christian Marketplace to become an ebook before you purchase it. You can now do so at www.marketingchristianbooks.com.

I am also making progress on placing it on other ebook sites for sale as in ePub and Kindle format. Hopefully, my resolution to make it happen won’t get waylaid again.

How about you? What piece of your marketing plan has been waylaid? Resolve today to get back to it. You won’t regret it.

Share/Save/Bookmark

One thought on “Waylaid Plans

  1. Hey Sarah,

    Good post and so much useful information! I’ve got my book “Mission Possible” on Amazon, Smashwords, Filedby, and through online retailers at Lightning Source. I say, “There’s no such thing as too much exposure when it comes to Ebooks!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

