A Little Courtesy

I am sure that I have written on this subject before, and will most likely write on it again in the future. After all, common courtesy is necessary to keep a civilized society running smoothly.

I receive all sorts of emails and phone calls from people seeking information and help in all aspects of publishing and marketing. I try to respond to these inquiries with integrity.

There are those callers and email inquirers who think they can have a free consultation with me. Of course, that is not going to happen. However, I am more than happy to point people in a direction they need to go for the information or service they require.

Case in point: I recently received an email from someone who had released an album. They reported that CBA, The Association for Christian Retail, had referred them to me (probably because they were a start-up and new to the industry). They reported that they were having trouble finding a good publicist and hoped that I could refer them to one.

I did know a publicist. I was not sure if this publicist would promote an album, but figured she might. So, I sent the inquirer a referral.

I never heard back from them. Neither a “thank you” nor a “that one didn’t work out, know of anyone else?”

Then, just last week, I received an email blast from the publicist I had referred. It turns out that she is promoting this album.

Did I receive a “thank you” for the referral from the publicist either? No. However, I will say in her defense that the client may not have told her that I was the referral source.

Folks, remember that when someone does a favor for you—giving you information or reviewing or mentioning your book—you are benefiting. So, remember to thank that person. Do your part to keep the wheels of our society running smoothly as well as spreading some kindness in the name of Jesus.

Bookmark and Share

One thought on “A Little Courtesy

Leave a Reply

