The Importance of a Book Cover

We are in the process of putting together the 2012 Christian Small Publishers Association (CSPA) cooperative product catalog that showcases our member publishers’ titles. As I was going through the various titles for the catalog, I was struck by a particular book cover.

I think the book cover is nicely done. So much so, that the cover alone made me want to read the book.

I know that I am not the only one who gets drawn in by a book cover. I have written about this subject before, and I am sure I will write about it in the future. Your book cover is one of your most important marketing tools. Readers get turned on or turned off by the cover of your book.

In doing some data analysis recently on BookCrash, CSPA’s book review program for bloggers, I noticed something. The books with the covers that looked the most self-published (i.e. poor cover design) had the least amount of requests for copies to review from bloggers. I know that it was not the genre of these books as each of these titles was fiction and fiction is fairly popular with BookCrash’s review bloggers.

Make sure you are putting plenty of thought and money into your book covers. They are your book’s number one marketing tool.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

