The Disappearing Print Book

The disappearing print book—it’s the subject of publishers and book sellers worries these days. Much angst and thought is going into how to preserve both print books and brick-and-mortar bookstores.

Following are two interesting marketing campaigns aimed at doing just that. One is by a publisher and one is by book sellers. Interestingly, both of these entities are not located in the United States, which just goes to show that the disappearance of print books is not just a concern for Americans.

Books are My BagBooks Are My Bag

The United Kingdom’s Booksellers Association is launching the “Books Are My Bag” campaign that will run from September 13 through Christmas. The goal is to use cotton bags printed with “Books Are My Bag” to increase awareness of the importance of bookshops.

U.K. Publishers can join the campaign by ordering bags, use the “Books Are My Bag” banner on your website and in your emails, include the “Find Your Local Bookshop” button on your website, and join the social media campaign by following “booksaremybag” on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram, and through using the #booksaremybag hashtag.

blank book

Disappearing Ink

One publisher in Buenos Aires, Argentina, is launching “El Libro que No Peude Esperar” (The Book That Can’t Wait) campaign. This publisher is printing books with disappearing ink in hopes of boosting excitement about real, rather than digital, books. These books will come in sealed packages. As soon as the reader starts to turn the books pages, the ink begins to age and fade. Readers will have about 60 days to finish the book before the pages go blank.

Campaigns come and go. Some are successful, some are not. Time will tell whether these two campaigns affect print book sales. While they may have the impact to increase print sales in the short run, I doubt they will do much to halt the march toward digital books in the long run.

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “The Disappearing Print Book

  1. Fascinating. I can’t decide if that I would want a disappearing ink book or not…the novelty would be cool, but then again, when I buy a book it is because I want to add it to my personal library, otherwise I would borrow it from the library.

    To the point though, this post does give an interesting peek into what book sellers really think about the digital book craze.

    Like

  2. I was thinking that the disappearing ink books would make great novelty gifts, but that is about all. You are right. If I really like a book, I want to add it to my bookshelf. It would not be possible with a disappearing ink book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

