Don’t Make It Hard

As a general rule, I do not review Christian books. As the Director of Christian Small Publishers Association (CSPA), providing reviews of Christian books would put me in an awkward position. If I reviewed a book by one member of the association, then I would need to be available to review books for all members, and there simply is not enough time in a day.

ContactUs-1_1

The one exception I make to this rule is for books on book marketing and publishing. As the author of Your Guide to Marketing Books in the Christian Marketplace, providing reviews for other books in this genre is smart collaboration. This gives the author of the book a review, but also exposes my book to those reading testimonials and reviews of the marketing or publishing book.

The other day, a fellow forum member offered copies of his new book in exchange for a review on Amazon. Since the book was in the genre of my exception, and since the book interested me, I offered to review the book.

I received the book in the mail. As is my usual habit, I cut the envelope open, pulled the materials out, and threw the envelope away. It wasn’t until I really took a look at the book later that I realized that the author had not enclosed any contact information. He had simply sent me the book with a sticky note attached to the cover that read, “Thanks for taking a look!” and signed with his first name.

I turned the book over and read the author bio. There was no website, blog, Facebook page, Twitter handle, or email listed in the bio. In other words, this author had not enclosed a single way for me to contact him.

While this author only requested an Amazon review, the lack of contact information may still close doors for him. What if I wanted to interview him for a blog post? What if I wanted to find another way to collaborate together on a book promotion scheme? By failing to provide easily accessible contact information, he did not invite or make himself available for additional exposure. Of course, I could go back to the forum and search through the archives to try to find a way to contact him, but who wants to do that?

If you are sending books to reviewers, don’t make it hard for the reviewer to get in touch with you, even if for no other reason than letting you know they have posted a review. Don’t make the mistake this self-published author did. All you need to do is enclose a business card, letter, or brochure with your book when sending it out to reviewers. Doing so invites further contact and opens doors for additional exposure for you and your book.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

