The Game of “Life”

A couple weeks ago, I taught my nephew the game of “Life”. He absolutely loved the game. I think I played “Life” with him at least six times in a span of two days.

Life

While playing “Life”, my nephew was grappling with all the bad things that happen in the game. If he got hit by a tornado or wrecked his car in an accident, he would exclaim how awful and unfair it was. My response to him was “that’s real life too”.

One of the things my nephew complained about was that every space on the “Life” game board made something happen. He stated that players never get a break in the game. My response: “Real life can be like that too.”

I don’t know about you, but for me every square inch of my life can be busy. I can get so caught up in “maintaining” that I put off “improving”. Case in point: I recently read Michael Hyatt’s book Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World. Platform is chalk full of absolutely great ideas on thing to do to keep moving forward with your business. Many of the suggestions are things I already know I should be doing, but have just been too busy.

However, reading the book has motivated me to move some pieces around on my life board to make room for the “improving” as well as the “maintaining”. A few of the things I hope to accomplish are:

  1. Updating the bio on my blog’s About page.
  2. Getting a new head shot picture.
  3. Updating and improving my Speaking page.

If you have not read Michael Hyatt’s book Platform, I highly recommend it. Every author with a book to promote will benefit from the information in the book.

One of my favorite quotes from the book is: “As a writer, your biggest problem is obscurity, not piracy.”

Now, I just need to create the space on my life board to put into practice the ideas in the book. After all, I don’t want to fall into obscurity.

What about you? What have you been putting off that you need to really make a priority?

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

