Above and Beyond

When was the last time you were pleasantly surprised by a customer service experience? Anytime a business goes above and beyond in providing good customer service, they gain a loyal customer.

customer-loyalty-2

Recently, I had one of those pleasant surprises. One of Christian Small Publishers Association’s (CSPA) Partner Members went above and beyond.

In June, CSPA had taken out a full-page cooperative ad featuring books from some of our member publishers’ books in the Book Fun Magazine. I was recently contacted by the magazine asking for update info for the ad, which they were going to be running in the August issue of the magazine.

I immediately contacted Book Fun Magazine to get clarification. I figured this must be a mistake. After all, CSPA had only paid for the ad to run one month, in June. Their response was that there was no mistake. They told me to read their tagline. Here is what their tagline reads:

“We reserve the right to do more than we promise.”

Wow. This company was running our ad for an extra month. Why? Because they reserve the right to do more than they promise. Running CSPA’s cooperative ad for an additional month has scored major points with us.

How are you doing in providing exceptional customer service? Do you ever go above and beyond with your customers?

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “Above and Beyond

  1. My apartment building was recently sold. I have to say my new landlord, Marc, has gone well above and beyond. I lived in my present apartment for 23 years and they never raised it to match what new people paid. Marc had to raise it. Rents went up all over. But he knocked $25 off the original raise, still much lower than new people. When I told him I would like an apartment without steps, he moved me into one for the same new rent–still much lower than most of the apartments and a brand new apartment. Sorry. This isn’t about writing, but it applies to the good customer service theme.

    Like

Leave a Reply

