Let Go and Let God

I answered my phone and listened to my daughter sob. After she calmed down, she told me that she had just fallen down a flight of stairs and thought that her leg might be broken.

The call came just hours before I was to leave for the International Christian Retail Show (ICRS) where Christian Small Publishers Association (CSPA) has a booth each year and represents our members’ books and products at this trade show. My teenage daughter was over 250 miles away at a summer college program for rising high school seniors.

letting-go-open-hands

My mother instinct wanted to jump into my car and immediately drive to my daughter’s side. I couldn’t due to my ICRS commitment. All I could do was make sure my daughter was in good hands, and then turn the situation over to God and trust that he would fill in the gaps.

Letting go is hard. I believe the timing of this accident no coincidence. God wanted me to become better at letting go and allowing him to handle that which I am not capable of doing. Yes, my presence would be a comfort to my daughter, but the purpose of the program she is in is to help her be more independent and ready for college. As for the broken leg, there was nothing I could do for that. Such injuries require doctors.

If you are like me, you might also have a hard time letting go. I tend to take matters into my own hands and use my grit to “make things happen”, especially when it comes to promoting and marketing a book. But the truth is there is only so much that I can do in my own strength. The rest is up to God.

I can put the information about my message and my book in front of people. I can’t make them notice this information. I can’t make them pay attention to the information. And, I certainly can’t make them buy my book. I have no control over these things. I must let go and let God.

I recently heard a Christian author say, “God gives you your platform and he can take it away.” That is so true. I have to remind myself that God alone is the one that takes my message and uses it to help others. My job is to simply show up, be present, and give the message God has given me. God must do the rest.

What about you? Are you trying to control too much? Are you anxious and stressed about marketing and selling your books? I encourage you to turn it over to God. He alone “builds the house” (Psalm 127:1). Let go and let God.

Related Posts:
Who’s Got Your Books?
God Is In the Mix
Reaching the Average Christian Reader

Bookmark and Share

Don’t miss out on any of the great information shared in this blog. Subscribe to receive each post in your email box. Just click here.

Save

12 thoughts on “Let Go and Let God

  1. Superb article! The realities of walking with the Lord. We all need something like this to purify our vision and calling.

    Like

  2. Thanks for that encouragement. The joy of my writing has been compromised by my fear of not selling, and the stark reality that I’m not selling nearly as much as I thought I would. I’m trying to do all I can to market, spending some money but utilizing free education and methods as much as I can, but seeing little reward for my labor and expense. However, I know I’m doing what the Lord wants, and those few that I sell and even give away I believe are making a difference. Even the conversations I am able to get into with people by being at fairs and festivals are such a blessing. Having a Christian presence in our communities is also a blessing. But I needed this reminder that God gives the increase, we just have to plant seeds, water, etc., and just be faithful. Even Jesus Himself, the best preacher who ever lived and was God in the flesh, had a lot of resistance! A lot of people were saved, but not everyone. People were hostile toward Him, to say the least. It’s no wonder we too will have resistance. No where in the Bible does it talk about numbers, but just being a fisher of men. In Timothy we’re told to be faithful. David was rebuked for trying to count the people. We want to see sales because that means people are reading our books, but it will come in time. We have to keep plugging away and leave the rest to God. We’ll never know in this lifetime all the lives we are touching, and we leave a legacy with our books even after we die. What a blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dawn, I relate. I am particularly discouraged at present. Something I just did was to try to encourage other authors since I am discouraged. I read a lot and write book reviews on my blog. I posted a number of book reviews or book quotes from authors I have read on twitter. I also tweeted this: “I tweeted some book reviews and author quotes. Encourage an author today. Being an author can be discouraging and isolating.”

    Like

  4. You are so right! I like that word isolating. Once those you know and love you are used to the idea that you are a writer, the encouragement and sales from them slow down, and of course you don’t want to hound your friends! But it’s challenging getting noticed beyond your reach. I think of all the movies of the underdog, and how with perseverence it always pays off, so that’s what I’m trying to do, stay faithful to the call, to the Lord, and to this dream. I have a blog and posted a survey, recently updated my blog’s appearance, and continue to write regularly. I have a little over 500 pageviews a month which is good, but no comments (except for my atheist cousin who heckles me! LOL! I don’t let those through!), and no responses yet to my survey. I keep pouring out my heart and soul and only hear crickets. But that doesn’t mean no one is being reached. I’m a little disappointed in myself that I am this discouraged, but I started out so strong and now I feel like I’m fizzling out. I like your idea about encouraging other authors. That’s great that you do book reviews! Everyone loves that. I wish you the best with your books. What is your website address?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If you click on my name, that is my web site. But here is url: https://lightenough.wordpress.com/
    Crickets. I bet there are some paying attention but they say nothing! This seems common. Several times someone told me how much they appreciated my blog or a certain post, and I had no clue they ever read my blog – as they never liked, commented, etc. Hang in there. I also find it unpredictable what gets a response out of people. I’ll post something more for my own benefit, thinking it will interest no one, and it creates interest! And the opposite – I’ll think a certain will get attention, and it is ignored. Go figure! : )

    Like

  6. Statistics show that only about 10% of people who read blogs actually comment on them. 🙂

    Like

  7. While I agree with this 10% stat, I don’t relate to it personally. How can people read but never like, comment, or share? It seems so thoughtless. People may not have time to like/comment/share regularly, but if they are consistently appreciating someone’s work, they should at least on occasion let it be known. Yes, I try to do this. At times it may only be a “like” which some may see as a bit lame, but at least they know I stopped by. I know, I know…my husband always tells me I am not like most people. : )

    Like

  8. I agree with you, tho. I also try to show my appreciation, even if I am watching something on YouTube. If it blessed me, I like to communicate that to encourage them, and maybe people will continue to put good things out there! We need to cheer them on if we want to keep being blessed, and we can bless others in passing it forward. I like your blog, by the way! Very cool picture! It captured me instantly!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

